/*get flag library for language switcher*/

Miami's Universal Primary Contest Explained

Republicans & Independents may find Democrats on their August 28, 2018 Ballot!

There are three races on Miami ballots for which no Republican is running - but there is a contest among the Democrats. When all candidates for an office have the same party affiliation and the winner will have no opposition, ALL qualified voters, REGARDLESS OF PARTY AFFILIATION, may vote in this primary race. Since this election decides who will win the seat, Republicans and Independents in the affected districts will find these Democratic races on their ballot. 

The Universal Primary Races are:

  • US House of Representatives District 24:   Frederica Wilson will face-off against Ricardo De La Fuente to represent the District which encompasses southern parts of Broward County and the eastern parts of Miami-Dade County (including Opa-locka, Hollywood, Miramar, and North Miami).
  • Florida Senate District 38: Daphne Campbell and Jason Pizzo are vying to represent the area northeastern portion of Miami Dade County from Miami Beach to just below the Broward county line and from just west of Interstate 95  to the Atlantic Ocean on the east.
  • Florida House District 109:  Candidates for this district, which includes a swath of northwest Miami-Dade including Brownsville, Gladeview, West Little River, Westview and parts of Miami, Miami Gardens and Opa-locka are James Bush III and Cedric McMinn.

Learn more about the candidates at our nonpartisan, online voter guide at www.vote411.org.