Special Election for Senate District 40

On April 20, 2017, Florida Senator Frank Artiles for District 40 resigned, prompting Governor Rick Scott to call for a special election to fill the vacant seat. The LWV Miami-Dade will be keeping voters informed with the latest updates and make sure they are election ready.

The candidates:

Jose Felix Diaz - Republican

Alex Diaz de la Portilla - Republican

Ana Rivas Logan - Democrat

Lorenzo J. Palomares - Republican 

Christian "He-Man" Schlaerth - No Party Affiliation 

Steve Smith - Democrat 

Annette Taddeo - Democrat

Important dates:

June 26, 2017 - Deadline to Register for July 25 Primary Election

July 12, 2017 - Candidate Forum at Miami Dade College Kendall Campus, Room 6120

July 25, 2017 - Primary Election

September 26, 2017 - Speical Election for State Senate District 40 

Are you registered to vote? Make sure you register before June 25 to vote in the primaries. Check your registration status to avoid any issues election day. 

Where is District 40? View the district map and find out if that's your district here