2014-2015 Officers and Directors


Maribel Balbin

President – Maribel Balbin

Maribel Balbin’s commitment to our community has manifested itself through years of service in multiple organizations. For the last 20 years her work at the League of Women Voters has earned her recognition for effectively engaging citizens in the democratic process. She’s focused on ways to improve the economic status of women in our community in order to increase their participation in the civic and political life. Click here for more.

  Dorrit Marks Vice-President, Administration – Dorrit Marks

Dorrit Marks has a strong interest in foreign countries and loves languages, speaking German, Spanish, French and Italian. She and her husband go to Italy each year and take graduate university courses in history, economics and politics. Dorrit was born in Vienna. Click here for more.

Maggie Fernandez

Vice-President, Programs – Maggie Fernandez

Maggie Fernandez is the President at Sustainable Miami, a full service consulting firm. A results-driven, senior management professional with over 15 years experience in government administration and the strategic development of corporate/government communications, Maggie is an innovative achiever exposed to multiple specialties including sustainabilityClick here for more.

  Caesar Phillips – Secretary


Jennifer Korth           Jennifer Korth – Treasurer / Parliamentarian

Jennifer Korth, a LEED Green Associate, is the Grants and Sustainable Initiatives Administrator for the City of South Miami.  Her many roles has given her the opportunity to establish the Sustainable Initiatives Division and spearhead the development of the South Miami Intermodal Transportation Plan, the Tree Planting Program, Paciencia Park Improvement Project, PACE Program, and the Bike Rack Initiative.  Click here for more.

Susan WindmillerSusan Windmiller – Director I have been an active member of the League of Women Voters of Miami-Dade County since 2007.  However, it was not until the elections this past fall 2012 and also when I attended the 2013 Legislative Summit, that I experienced first hand the League in action! What a fabulous group that serves to educate our community on issues that affect our lives today and our children’s lives tomorrow, and has the courage and effective leadership to advocate fearlessly on important positions for the benefit of all of us.  I believe that we all have a responsibility to help make our community a better place. Click here for more.


Lucia Baez

Melissa Hunsberger

Melissa R. Hunsberger- Director

Melissa R. Hunsberger is a communications strategist and professional writer with nearly 10 years of experience in both print and online publications. Melissa joined Dream in Green (DIG), an environmental nonprofit, in October 2013 to oversee the Green Schools Challenge, a whole-system approach to energy, water, and resource-efficiency in schools. Click here for more.


Catherine McManus

Dannie McMillion

Sabrina Salomon


Sonia Succar Ferre

Sonia Succar Ferré – Director

Sonia is a civically engaged environmental scientist committed to Miami’s long-term sustainable growth. She has broad experience from her career in construction, manufacturing, government and campaign management. Click here for more.



Nominating Committee

  • Maribel Balbin, Chair
  • Loudres Ferrer-Diaz
  • Dorrit Marks
  • Gigi Pardo
  • Sabrina Solomon

Leave a Reply